This year once more, the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers has proved a great success internationally: the new edition of the Prize attracted over 1,900 candidates worldwide. For the 8th year running, this event under the patronage of LVMH since 2013 has contributed to supporting young designers.

Among the many applications, 20 young brands and their designers were selected for the semi-final. These semi-finalists come from China, France, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Nigeria, South Africa, South Korea, the United Kingdom and the United States, and, for the first time, from Albania and Colombia, thus expressing a great diversity of cultures and talents.

Delphine Arnault declares: “I am very grateful to all the candidates from more than 110 countries for taking part in this year’s competition and I would like to congratulate the semi-finalists. This semi-final will be entirely digital, and we wanted to open it to the greatest number of people: for the first time, the LVMH Prize will give the public the opportunity to discover the twenty semi-finalists on the website and to vote for the candidate of their choice.

The winner of the LVMH Prize for Young Fashion Designers receives a €300,000 endowment and benefits from a one-year bespoke mentorship program provided by a dedicated LVMH team. The Karl Lagerfeld/Special Jury Prize rewards a young designer with €150,000 and a mentorship program. In addition, the Prize distinguishes three young fashion-school graduates who have completed their studies in 2020 or 2021 by allocating them, as well as their school, a €10,000 grant. The prize-winning graduates will join the creative studio of an LVMH Group House for one year.

The 20 lucky ones are:

AGR by Alicia Robinson
BIANCA SAUNDERS by Bianca Saunders
CHARLES DE VILMORIN by Charles de Vilmorin
CHRISTOPHER JOHN ROGERS by Christopher John Rogers
CONNER IVES by Conner Ives
FEDERICO CINA by Federico Cina
KIDSUPER by Colm Dillane
KIKA VARGAS by Kika Vargas
LUKHANYO MDINGI by Lukhanyo Mdingi
MIDORIKAWA by Taku Midorikawa
NENSI DOJAKA by Nensi Dojaka
RIER by Andreas Steiner
RUI by Rui Zhou
SAUL NASH by Saul Nash
SHUTING QIU by Shuting Qiu
TAAKK by Takuya Morikawa
WED by Amy Trinh and Evan Phillips