The LOEWE FOUNDATION has revealed the names of the thirty finalists for its Craft Prize, which celebrates the excellence and innovation of contemporary craftsmanship. The finalist works, which range from ceramics and textiles to metal and leather, will be showcased at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris from May 15 to June 9, 2024.


The Craft Prize, which was launched in 2016 by the LOEWE FOUNDATION and its creative director Jonathan Anderson, aims to honor the origins of LOEWE as a craft workshop in 1846 and to recognize the work of those artists who are shaping the future of craftsmanship with their talent, vision and creativity. The prize, which is worth 50,000 euros, will be awarded by a jury of twelve distinguished figures from the fields of design, architecture, journalism, criticism and museum curating on May 14, 2024, during the opening of the exhibition at the Palais de Tokyo.



The exhibition, which will be accompanied by a catalogue, will feature the thirty finalist works selected by a committee of experts from among 3,900 submissions from artisans from 124 countries and regions. The finalists represent 16 countries and regions and work in various disciplines, such as ceramics, wood, textiles, furniture, paper, basketry, glass, metal, jewelry, lacquer and leather. The selection criteria sought to highlight the most outstanding works for their technical excellence, artistic merit, innovation and vision.


Many of the finalist works reflect a creative use of found or recycled materials, such as rubber tires and compressed wood, that give new value and meaning to everyday objects, often challenging the conventional boundaries between crafts and art. Several of the works also combine technical skill and intuition, chance and control, resulting in organic and biomorphic forms that push the physical limits of the materials and present novel configurations and formats never seen before.


The finalist artists for the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2024 are:

Andrés Anza (Mexico)
Miki Asai (Japan)
Patrick Bongoy (Democratic Republic of the Congo)
Emmanuel boos (France)
Chun Tai Chen (Taiwan Region)
Eunmi Chun (Republic of Korea)
Ange Dakouo (Mali)
Ken Eastman (United Kingdom)
Jeremy Frey (USA)
Karl Fritsch (New Zealand)
Kevin Gray (UK)
Raven Halfmoon (USA)
Yuefeng He (People’s Republic of China)
Ferne Jacobs (USA)
Racso Jugarap (Philippines)
Hiroshi Kaneyasu (Japan)
Heechan Kim (Republic of Korea)
Kira Kim (Republic of Korea)
Alison Croney Moses (USA)
Gaku Nakane (Japan)
Aya Oki (USA)
Ozioma Onuzulike (Nigeria)
Weon Rhee (Jongwon Lee) (Republic of Korea)
Ikuya Sagara (Japan)
Luis Santos Montes (Spain)
Saar Scheerlings (Netherlands)
Polly Adams Sutton (USA)
Kazuhiro Toyama (Japan)
Norman Weber (Germany)
Debaroun (Dahyeon Yoo) (Republic of Korea)